David Minton reviews Beta Version 2.0 at Kaleidoscope Gallery and Kate Murdoch is interviewed by Artist Talking editor, Andrew Bryant

To Heal by Ruth Geldard

To Heal, Ruth Geldard, wax, found tree section

Beta Version 2.0

Kaleidoscope Gallery, Sevenoaks
19 January – 10 March 2012

In addition to blogging, David Minton has reviewed a number of exhibitions at the Kaleidoscope Gallery, Sevenoaks Library.

His latest review of ‘Beta 2.0’ is among those chosen by a-n guest selector Alessandro Vincentelli, Curator of Exhibitions & Research at BALTIC in Gateshead, to be featured in the March edition of a-n Magazine, Reviews section.

Ruth Geldard’s three pieces begin with verbs – ‘To smother’  ‘To Heal’ ‘To Secrete’. My male gaze lacks confidence here. To Smother? Smothering? (S)mothering? My mother?  Smother the mother? Smothering is a gentle art, but oh so insistent. Brings back memories. From a distance, ‘To Smother’ is an over sized confection on the wall. Get closer and it has the appearance of a section of tree-trunk overwhelmed by sweet pinkness; its enamel surface a contradiction. Invited by the artist to touch the work, my visual enamel is shattered by the shocking sensation of clammy skin. First reactions are of eye and hand reading different stories, but second thoughts suggest that the differences live through their associations. The eye touches more easily than the hand? My male gaze backs off a little…

Read the full review here.

Read David’s blog Dead and Dying Flowers on a-n Artists Talking.


Kate Murdoch is interviewed by Andrew Bryant

Hame by Kate Murdoch

Hame (c)2009 Kate Mudoch, courtesy the artist

And speaking of Artists Talking, editor Andrew Bryant’s latest blogger interview is with our Kate Murdoch.  They discuss art as a second career and the challenges and benefits of not going to art school.

AB: You are one of the few artists I know who hasn’t been through the art education system. Do you think that puts you at an advantage or a disadvantage?

KM: I think the short answer to that is a bit of both. My feelings fluctuate and I waver between thinking that an art education might be really worthwhile to wondering if I would personally gain all that much from it.

I’d say one of the main advantages for me of not having had a formal art education is that I’ve had the freedom to work organically and develop my practice at my own pace. I like to think that my art isn’t formulaic. I haven’t been taught how to make it; I work intuitively, so it comes from the heart.  I’ve heard some people speak about having the creativity knocked out of them through attending an art institution. I can’t say whether this would have happened to me had I gone, but I do know that as things stand, my creative flow has remained largely uninterrupted.

Read Blogger Interview: Kate Murdoch.

Read Kate’s latest post on her blog Keeping it Together, one she says will be her last.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

